Dabo Swinney earns CFB Coach of the Year award


Clemson, S.C. - As the Clemson Tigers celebrate their fourth straight berth in the College Football Playoff, head coach Dabo Swinney can relish in a personal award as well.

Following his team's fourth straight ACC title on Saturday night, the Touchdown Club of Columbus announced today that Swinney has earned the Woody Hayes Award. The honor is presented annually to the College Football Coach of the Year.

Clemson went 13-0 this season, just the seventh undefeated regular season in program history and second during Swinney's tenure. As a result, he was recently voted the ACC Coach of the Year as well.

Swinney's Tigers finished conference business Saturday night earning a 42-10 victory over Pitt in the ACC Championship game in Charlotte.

Swinney becomes the second Clemson head coach to earn the honor since the award’s inception in 1977. Danny Ford was Clemson’s first Woody Hayes Award winner, collecting the honor following Clemson’s 12-0 national championship season in 1981.

The 2018 Woody Hayes Award will be presented during the 64th Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards on Saturday, Feb. 9 in Columbus, Ohio.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off