Gov. Haley asks for major disaster declaration for SC

21 counties in South Carolina, including several in our area, could be declared major disaster areas after the February ice storm.

Tuesday, Governor Nikki Haley requested a major disaster declarations from the federal government for the hardest hit counties, including, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, and Marion counties.

If the federal government approves the request, the counties would be reimbursed for 75 percent of the response and clean up costs.

It's estimated South Carolina sustained $55 million in damage in the ice storm between February 10 and February 14.

The last time a major disaster declaration was requested for South Carolina was in 2006 by Governor Mark Sanford for the December 2005 ice storm.

Click here to read the letter
Governor Haley sent to the federal government.