72 / 60
      74 / 60
      77 / 60

      Media Picks South Carolina to win the East

      COLUMBIA, S.C. (Courtsey USC) â?? The University of South Carolina football squad has been tabbed as favorites to win the 2014 Eastern Division title, according to the media attending the annual SEC Media Days in Birmingham.

      The Gamecocks received 1,895 points to outdistance Georgia (1,777) for the top spot in the East. Florida (1,362) and Missouri (1,263) were picked third and fourth respectively, while Tennessee (893), Vanderbilt (619) and Kentucky (395) round out the Eastern Division.

      The Gamecocks placed three players, junior running back Mike Davis and senior offensive linemen A.J.Cann and Corey Robinson, on the preseason All-SEC second-team unit. Senior safety Brison Williams was named to the third-team squad.

      Alabama, which had the most first-team selections with nine, is favored to win the Western Division, tallying 1,915 points, ahead of defending SEC champion Auburn (1,735) and LSU (1,453). Ole Miss (1,069), Mississippi State (890), Texas A&M (791) and Arkansas (351) round out the West.

      Alabama is also the prohibitive favorite to capture the SEC championship. The Crimson Tide picked up 154 votes, more than double that of Auburn (75). South Carolina (32) was third, just ahead of Georgia (19). LSU (9), Ole Miss (2), Arkansas (1) and Mississippi State (1) also received votes.

      The 293 voters is an all-time high for SEC Media Days. The previous high was 243 in 2013.


      (Total points earned in parenthesis)



      QB Nick Marshall, Auburn (241)

      RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (281)

      RB Todd Gurley, Georgia (280)

      WR Amari Cooper, Alabama (282)

      WR Sammie Coates, Auburn (207)

      TE O.J. Howard, Alabama (188)

      OL La'el Collins, LSU (231)

      OL Arie Kouandjio, Alabama (188)

      OL Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss (183)

      OL Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M (174)

      C Reese Dismukes, Auburn (226)


      QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (118)

      RB Mike Davis, South Carolina (240)

      RB Alex Collins, Arkansas (126)

      WR Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss (182)

      WR Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (71)

      TE C.J. Uzomah, Auburn (141)

      OL A.J. Cann, South Carolina (166)

      OL Vadal Alexander, LSU (112)

      OL Alex Kozan, Auburn (112)

      OL Corey Robinson, South Carolina (107)

      C Ryan Kelly, Alabama (126)


      QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss (94)

      RB Corey Grant, Auburn (52)

      RB Keith Marshall, Georgia (44)

      WR Jameon Lewis, Mississippi State (67)

      WR Marquez North, Tennessee (66)

      TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas (72)

      OL Austin Shepherd, Alabama (106)

      OL Chad Slade, Auburn (101)

      OL John Theus, Georgia (96)

      OL Chaz Green, Florida (94)

      C Evan Boehm, Missouri (77)



      DL Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (239)

      DL Dante Fowler, Jr., Florida (212)

      DL A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama (208)

      DL Gabe Wright, Auburn (192)

      LB Trey DePriest, Alabama (253)

      LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (186)

      LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia (147)

      DB Landon Collins, Alabama (274)

      DB Vernon Hargreaves, III, Florida (243)

      DB Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss (210)

      DB Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M (183)


      DL Trey Flowers, Arkansas (181)

      DL Chris Jones, Mississippi State (150)

      DL Alvin "Bud" Dupree, Kentucky (134)

      DL Markus Golden, Missouri (125)

      LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State (143)

      LB Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (137)

      LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (116)

      DB Robenson Therezie, Auburn (144)

      DB Tre'Davious White, LSU (141)

      DB Damian Swann, Georgia (127)

      DB Tony Conner, Ole Miss (116)


      DL Ray Drew, Georgia (102)

      DL Montravius Adams, Auburn (94)

      DL Carl Lawson, Auburn (87)

      DL Jermauria Rasco, LSU (79)

      LB Kwon Alexander, LSU (112)

      LB Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn (82)

      LB Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss (76)

      DB Jon Mincy, Auburn (99)

      DB Corey Thompson, LSU (86)

      DB Rashard Robinson, LSU (84)

      DB Brison Williams, South Carolina (81)



      P Drew Kaser, Texas A&M (221)

      PK Marshall Morgan, Georgia (224)

      RS Christion Jones, Alabama (262)

      AP Christion Jones, Alabama (130)


      P Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas (136)

      PK Colby Delahoussaye, LSU (142)

      RS Andre Debose, Florida (97)

      AP Terrence Magee, LSU (111)


      P Jamie Keehn, LSU (81)

      PK Andrew Baggett, Missouri (103)

      RS Marcus Murphy, Missouri (72)

      AP Trey Williams, Texas A&M (89)



      School Points

      Alabama 154

      Auburn 75

      South Carolina 32

      Georgia 19

      LSU 9

      Ole Miss 2

      Arkansas 1

      Mississippi State 1


      School Points

      South Carolina 1895

      Georgia 1777

      Florida 1362

      Missouri 1263

      Tennessee 893

      Vanderbilt 619

      Kentucky 395


      School Points

      Alabama 1915

      Auburn 1735

      LSU 1453

      Ole Miss 1069

      Mississippi State 890

      Texas A&M 791

      Arkansas 351