Andretti, Waid and Evernham inducted into NMPA Hall of Fame

Andretti, Waid and Evernham are the newest members of the NMPA Hall of Fame.

Driver Mario Andretti, sports writer Steve Waid, and crew chief Ray Evernham were inducted into the National Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame on Saturday night in Charlotte. The NMPA Hall of Fame is based at Darlington Raceway.

Andretti won the Indianapolis 500, Daytona 500 and Formula One World Championship. He's the only driver to win all three in a career. He also won four IndyCar titles.

Sports journalist Steve Waid covered NASCAR over four decades. Waid started his career as a sports writer and later served as president of the NMPA for 12 years. He was also the publisher of Grand National Scene.

Evernham was Jeff Gordon's crew chief and helped the Rainbow Warrior to three Sprint Cup Championships and 47 wins. Evernham also played a big role in bringing Dodge back to NASCAR.