Lawrence Timmons returns home to Pee Dee

Pittsburgh Steelers linebacker Lawrence Timmons was back home in the Pee Dee meeting fans at the Florence RedWolves game on Friday night. Timmons, who played his high school football right next door to the RedWolves home at Florence Memorial Stadium took pictures and signed autographs as well as throwing out the first pitch in the RedWolves 14-2 win over Fayetteville.

"It means a lot, you look at all the kids in this area, this is a small town," Timmons said about coming back home and meeting youg fans. "Most people when they look at a small town, they don't think they can go out and get so much national (publicity). I'm excited to say, you can do it, I did it - the sky's the limit."

Timmons told WPDE that he's optimistic that he will be back to work in the NFL sooner rather than later. "I think they're probably going to wait until the last minute so I'm thinking Mid-July to late-July is when it will get settled."

Timmons has had a stellar four year career in the NFL and his 2010 campaign saw him emerge as one of the top linebackers in the NFL with 135 tackles, 3 sacks and 2 interceptions. He credits a strong work ethic and extra time in the film room as big reasons that he went from 78 tackles to 135 in one season.

Timmons is the 2003 winner of WPDE's Zoneman Trophy, given to the outstanding high school football player in the Grand Strand and Pee Dee. Steelers fans may be surprised to learn that Timmons was known just as much for his prowess as a receiver as his defensive abilities during his time at Wilson High.

Lawrence Timmons high school highlights from 2003 WPDE Zoneman winning year

WPDE Zoneman Winners

2000 - Tymere Zimmerman, Marlboro County (Newberry)

2001 - Syvelle Newton, Marlboro County (South Carolina, Philadelphia Soul)

2002 - Syvelle Newton, Marlboro County (South Carolina, Philadelphia Soul)

2003 - Lawrence Timmons, Wilson (Florida State, Pittsburgh Steelers)

2004 - Bobby Wallace, Conway (South Carolina)

2005 - Chris Massey, Cheraw (South Carolina State)

2006 - Malcolm Elder, Carvers Bay (South Carolina State)

2007 - Bruce Taylor, Myrtle Beach (Virginia Tech)

2008 - Everett Golson, Myrtle Beach (Notre Dame)

2009 - Everett Golson, Myrtle Beach (Notre Dame)

2010 - Shon Carson, Lake City (South Carolina)