WPDE Mr. and Miss Hoop Zone 2012 crowned

160 players, coaches and families attended the Hoop Zone Banquet

Myrtle Beach's Khadijah Sessions captured her third WPDE Miss Hoop Zone and Marion's Marqui McKelvy took the Mr. Hoop Zone trophy at the 12th annual Hoop Zone banquet in Myrtle Beach on March 7th. McKelvy became the first Marion athlete to capture a top WPDE honor, while Sessions is the first athlete to become a three time winner in WPDE's major high school sports awards.

Sessions captured 10 of 17 first place votes to score a resounding win in ballots from area coaches and media. The future South Carolina Lady Gamecock won Miss Hoop Zone in 2009 and 2010 before surrendering the trophy to Hartsville's Jasmine Phillips last season. Timmonsville's Sade Eli finished 2nd with 17 points. The sophomore is favored to win the 2013 Miss Hoop Zone. Mullins Brittany Rowell was one point behind Eli to finish in third.

McKelvy had six first place votes and 25 points to edge out Wilson's Brandon Jones by four points. Mullins Darnell Coleman, a two time Mr. Hoop Zone Finalist, finished in third with 19 points.

41 boys and girls players from the Pee Dee and Grand Strand were honored as part of the 2012 WPDE Hoop Zone team. The 2012 Hoop Zone Banquet will air Sunday at noon on NewsChannel 15.

Click here to see more on the 2012 WPDE Hoop Zone Team and Mr. & Mrs. Hoop Zone.