WPDE All-Hoop Zoners picked Class A Players of the Year

Carvers Bay's DaShaun Aiken was named Boys Class A Player of the Year.

Timmonsville's Sade Eli and Carvers Bay's DaShaun Aiken were named 2012-2013 South Carolina Basketball Coaches Association Class A Players of the Year.

Eli led the Lady Whirlwinds to a Class A Championship last season. The Timmonsville junior guard is averaging more than 20 points a game this year, and led her squad to another region title.

Aiken is the all-time leading scorer at Carvers Bay High. He is averaging 17 points a game for the Bears, despite playing most of the season with a pulled groin. Carvers Bay went undefeated in Region 7 Class A.

The SCBCA All-State Team was released on Wednesday. 23 players from the WPDE NewsChannel 15 viewing area were picked on the All-State team by an eight region panel.

In Boys Class 4A, Conway's Reggie Bonner was the only area player selected to the All-State Team.

In Boys Class 3A, Hartsville's Jaylen Shaw, JaQuan Grissett of North Myrtle Beach, Darlington's J.J. Richardson, and Nolin Butler of Myrtle Beach were All-State picks.

In Boys Class 2A, Marion's Kevin Rowell and Lake City's Keith Burgess were named All-State.

In Boys Class A, in addition to Player of the Year DaShaun Aiken, Johnsonville's Cordea Wilson, Lamar's Akeem Peoples, Hemingway's Dominic Scott and Hannah-Pamplico's Devonte Ellis garnered All-State honors.

In Girls Class 4A, Marissa Runyon of Carolina Forest was the only area player chosen All-State.

In Girls Class 3A, Taylor Allman and India Farmer of North Myrtle Beach and Tanisha Brown of Myrtle Beach made All-State.

In Girls Class 2A, Lake City's Shaunice Fulmore and Jasmine McClam and Niesha Godfrey of Mullins were chosen to the All-State team.

In Girls Class A, in addition to Eli, Latta's Tianna Deberry, Lamar's Heylan Anderson, and Johnsonville's Crystal Williams made All-State.

To see the entire South Carolina All-State Team, click on this link:

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off