Scott & Sessions Win Mr. & Miss Hoop Zone

The 10th annual WPDE Hoop Zone banquet was held on Thursday, March 11th at the Holiday Inn West in Myrtle Beach. Forty outstanding boys and girls basketball players from the Pee Dee and the Grand Strand were honored for outstanding play during the 2009-10 season.

For the second straight year, Khadijah Sessions of Myrtle Beach captured WPDE's Miss Hoop Zone. The Myrtle Beach guard captured 11 first place votes in a panel of 20 area coaches and media. Hartsville guard Jasmine Phillips was second with 21 total points, followed by Marion's Geneika Brantley and Darlington's Jazz Green. All four players were on the podium for the second straight year.

Darlington High School captured its first Mister Hoop Zone award as Jordan Scott captured top honors. The transfer from Hartsville captured 11 first place votes to become 2010 WPDE Mister Hoop Zone. Scott has signed to play college basketball at the College of Charleston. Two time Zoneman winner Everett Golson of Myrtle Beach finished second with Lake City's Corey Baker and Hemingway's Jazjuan Wilson rounded out the top four.