Myrtle Beach Seahawks walk off with 7th State Championship

Myrtle Beach has won seven state football championships.

Sean Huggins kicked a 22 yard field goal as time expired to give Myrtle Beach a 24-21 win over Daniel to claim the South Carolina 3A state championship at Williams-Brice Stadium in Columbia. Daniel's Austin Barnes tied the game at 21 on a five yard TD run with 4:02 in the fourth quarter. Myrtle Beach put together a 12 play 67 yard drive that featured two Drayton Arnold pass plays on third down setting the stage for Huggins game winning boot. Myrtle Beach had the first score of the game when Arnold hit Graham Vaughn on a 21 yard touchdown pass. The Seahawks were driving to take a 14-0 lead at the half, but Amir Trapp picked off Arnold and ran 85 yards to tie the game at 7. The Lions took a 14-7 lead on a Jae'l Oglesby 81 yard TD run, but the Seahawks answered right back with a Arnold to CJ Finkley 19 yard score. Vaughn's second TD catch of the game put Myrtle Beach in front 21-14 and set the stage for the dramatic fourth quarter ending. Arnold finished the game 20 of 37 for 276 yards and 3 TD passes. Vaughn was the leading receiver with 5 catches for 83 yards and two scores. Oglesby had 16 carries for 173 yards and a score in the loss. This is Myrtle Beach High's seventh state title in football and for Mickey Wilson, his second as a head coach. The Seahawks started the season 1-3 and didn't win the region, but played its best football in November and December to finish with a 11-4 record.
Click HERE to watch Rich Chrampanis with his breakdown of the Seahawks game winning drive