Eastside beats Socastee to win 3A State Wrestling Title

The Socastee wrestling team finished the season with a 24-2 record.

The Eastside Eagles defeated the Socastee Braves 47-21 to win the Class 3A State Wrestling Championship for a second year in a row.

Socastee got out to a 9-0 lead, thanks to Joe Smolenski's upset win over #1 ranked Mike Fernandez in the 195 pound division, and Kyle Burton's pin in the 220 pound division.

Eastside, from Taylors, rallied from the early deficit to win seven consecutive matches and earn their second straight state title, and 8th in the last 11 years.

Socastee finished the season with a record of 24-2.

Eastside 47 Socastee 21

195 Joseph Smolenski (Socastee) won by decision over Michael Fernandez (Eastside) 5-4.

220 Kyle Burton (Socastee) won by pin over Jesus Esparza (Eastside) 1:51.

285 Faud Serdah (Eastside) won by decision over Tevin Ferreiras (Socastee) 2-0.

106 Zane Mitchell (Eastside) won by pin over Eugene Utley (Socastee) 1:57.

113 Fred McCurry (Eastside) won by pin over Quin Gammon (Socastee) 1:45.

120 Charlton Clark (Eastside) won by tech fall over Dylan Martin (Socastee) 4:29 19-3.

126 David Walker (Eastside) won by pin over Justin Knipper (Socastee) 4:46.

132 Clay Walker (Eastside) won by pin over Jordan Hodge (Socastee) 0:11.

138 Cole Anderson (Eastside) won by pin over Brad Melnytskyy (Socastee) 2:59.

145 Sam McKinney (Socastee) won by decision over Kaden Clark (Eastside) 13-7.

152 John Leggett (Socastee) won by decision over Ian Rodgers (Eastside) 8-5.

160 Rash Almasri (Eastside) won by decision over Andrew Baddoo (Socastee) 16-10.

170 Taylor Chemell (Eastside) won by pin over Aydin Imani (Socastee) 2:46.

182 Zach Mor (Socastee) won by pin over DeShawn Sullivan (Eastside) 0:27.