2012 WPDE Zoneman Finalists announced

Conway's Mykal Moody, Socastee's Hunter Renfrow and Trey Samuel of Hartsville have been named as finalists for the 2012 WPDE Zoneman Trophy. The award will be announced at 13th annual WPDE Chevy End Zone banquet on Wednesday, December 5th at the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center in Myrtle Beach. The trio will headline the WPDE All-Zone team, who will also be in attendance at the banquet.

WPDE's Zoneman Trophy is top individual honor in area high school football. 34 area coaches and six local media members cast a vote for 1st, 2nd and 3rd for the top high school player in the Grand Strand/Pee Dee area. Three points are awarded for a first place vote, two points for second and one point for third. With all of the votes tabulated, three players have made it to the podium.

2012 WPDE Zoneman Finalists (in alphabetical order)

Mykal Moody, Conway quarterback
* South Carolina Mister Football Finalist, 1543 passing yards, 813 rushing yards, accounted for 36 TD's

Hunter Renfrow, Socastee quarterback

* 1343 yards rushing, 540 yards passing, accounted for 28 TD's

Trey Samuel, Hartsville running back

* 140 carries, 1909 yards, 13.6 yards per carry, 20 TD runs

Finishing Just Off the Podium

7th place - Darius Leonard, Lake View RB/LB (2 first place votes, 10 points)

tie for 4th - Joe Blue, Dillon RB/LB (1 first place vote, 11 points)

tie for 4th - OT Thomas, Myrtle Beach LB (1 first place vote, 11 points)

tie for 4th - Anthony Blue, Dillon RB (3 first place votes, 11 points)

Moody Joins Elite Company

Mykal Moody becomes just the sixth player in WPDE history to become a two time Zoneman Finalist. The previous five players have gone on to win a Zoneman Trophy

Two Time WPDE Zoneman Finalists

Syvelle Newton, Marlboro County QB (2001, 2002 Zoneman winner)

Malcolm Elder, Carvers Bay RB (2005 finalist, 2006 Zoneman winner)

Everett Golson, Myrtle Beach QB (2008, 2009 Zoneman winner)

Shon Carson, Lake City RB (2009 finalist, 2010 Zoneman winner)

Jabo Lee, Dillon RB (2010 finalist, 2011 Zoneman winner)

Mykal Moody, Conway QB (2011 and 2012 finalist)

Samuel's Podium Partner

Hartsville's Trey Samuel becomes the second Red Fox to make the WPDE Zoneman podium. The other? Jordan Lyles, who finished second to Notre Dame's Everett Golson in 2008. It was the last major award on the gridiron for Lyles, who is currently a starting pitcher for the Houston Astros, one of the youngest players in MLB in a starting rotation.

First Ever Brave

Socastee's Hunter Renfrow becomes the first ever Brave to make it to the podium. Socastee is the 15th high school in the Zone Nation to make it to the big post-season stage. With Moody's second appearance for Conway, the Tigers have had the most WPDE Zoneman Finalists in history:

Zoneman Finalist Breakdown by School

Conway: 8 (1 Zoneman winner)

Myrtle Beach: 6 (3 Zoneman winners)

Marlboro County: 5 (3 Zoneman winners)

Dillon: 3 (1 Zoneman winner)

Lake City: 3 (1 Zoneman winner)

Lake View: 3

Wilson: 2 (1 Zoneman winner)

Cheraw: 2 (1 Zoneman winner)

Hartsville: 2

Hemingway: 1

Marion: 1

South Florence: 1

Green Sea-Floyds: 1

Socastee: 1

WPDE Zoneman Winners

2000 - Tymere Zimmerman, Marlboro County (Newberry)

2001 - Syvelle Newton, Marlboro County (South Carolina)

2002 - Syvelle Newton, Marlboro County (South Carolina)

2003 - Lawrence Timmons, Wilson (Florida State, Pittsburgh Steelers)

2004 - Bobby Wallace, Conway (South Carolina)

2005 - Chris Massey, Cheraw (South Carolina State)

2006 - Malcom Elder, Carvers Bay (South Carolina State)

2007 - Bruce Taylor, Myrtle Beach (Virginia Tech)

2008 - Everett Golson, Myrtle Beach (Notre Dame)

2009 - Everett Golson, Myrtle Beach (Notre Dame)

2010 - Shon Carson, Lake City (South Carolina)

2011 - Jabo Lee, Dillon (East Carolina)