Conway QB Derrick wins 2016 Zoneman, Hardin wins Coach of the year

Myrtle Beach, SC - ABC 15 sports honored 61 student athletes for their accomplishments on the high school gridiron in 2016. Conway quarterback Peyton Derrick won the 2016 Zoneman, becoming the third Tiger to win the honor. Derrick received 30 votes from area coaches, while Lake View QB Duane Nichols and Hartsville TB Tiyon Evans finished with 20 apiece.

North Myrtle Beach head coach Blair Hardin was named the 2016 WPDE Coach of the Year. Hardin lead the Chiefs to their best record in school history at 11-2. He'll be leaving the Grand Strand this spring to head up the program at River Bluff.

Timmonsville head Coach Bill Tate was honored with the ABC 15 Lifetime Achievement Award. Tate has been coaching for 42 seasons, guiding the Whirlwinds to two state titles.

Michael Minges was named the SCISA Player of the year. The Dillon Christian QB guided the Warriors to the 2016 State Championship. Minges had a stellar season on both sides of the ball at quarterback and defensive back.

Scotland tailback Zamir White won the NC Player of the Year award for the second straight year. The highly recruited junior was a stat machine, accounting for 26 touchdowns and more than 1,700 yards during the fall. He'll return to Scotland for his senior season, before heading to a major D1 college to play on Saturdays.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off