Raffa makes All-Big South First Team

      CCU guard Anthony Raffa makes All Conference team.

      From CCU Athletics:

      Raffa Named First Team All-Conference

      CHARLOTTE, N.C. â??
      Coastal Carolina menâ??s basketball senior guard Anthony Raffa was named First Team All-Big South Conference the league announced on Sunday.

      This is Raffaâ??s second all-conference selection after being named to the second team last season. Raffa was a preseason first team selection as well this season.

      The Sea Isle City, N.J., native ended the regular season averaging a team-high and second in the conference 19.0 points per game. He ranked second on the team with 41 assists and 52 steals. He scored 20 points or more in 15 contests and scored in double-figures in all but two games this season. He ranks in the top-30 in the NCAA in scoring and was ranked in the top-10 earlier this season.

      Raffa ranks eighth in career scoring at CCU despite playing just three seasons. He has 1,447 points in a CCU uniform. He also ranks fifth in the CCU record books for career free throws made with 297. He has led the Chants in scoring 19 times this season including scoring a career-high 34 points against Florida International. He ranks second in the Big South in scoring, sixth in steals, eighth in 3-point field goal percentage, 3-point field goals made and field goal percentage and 10th in free throw percentage.

      2012-13 Big South Conference Post Season Awards

      First-Team All-Conference

      Stan Okoye, F, Sr., VMI

      Saah Nimley, G, Soph., Charleston Southern
      Anthony Raffa, G, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina
      John Brown, F., R-Fr., High Point

      Jeremy Atkinson, F., Sr., UNC Asheville

      Second-Team All-Conference

      Allan Chaney, F., Gr., High Point

      Tashan Newsome, G, R-Sr., Gardner-Webb

      Trey Freeman, G, Soph., Campbell

      Javonte Green, F., Soph., Radford

      Arlon Harper, G, Soph., Charleston Southern

      All-Freshman Team

      John Brown, F, High Point

      Michael Kessens, F, Longwood

      Will Weeks, F, UNC Asheville

      Adam Weary, G, High Point

      Rashun Davis, G, Radford

      All-Academic Team

      Darren White, F, Sr., Campbell

      Paul Gombwer, F, Soph., Charleston Southern

      Tyler Strange, G, Soph., Gardner-Webb

      John Caleb Sanders, G, Jr., Liberty

      Stephen Shockley, G, Sr., Longwood

      Kyle Noreen, F, Soph., Radford

      Keith Hornsby, G, Soph., UNC Asheville

      Stan Okoye, F, Sr., VMI

      Derrick Henry, G, Soph., Winthrop

      Player of the Year

      Stan Okoye, F, Sr., VMI

      Freshman of the Year

      John Brown, F, High Point

      Defensive Player of the Year

      D.J. Covington, F, Jr., VMI

      Coach of the Year

      Chris Holtmann, Gardner-Webb

      Scholar-Athlete of the Year

      John Caleb Sanders, G, Jr., Liberty