Senator Tim Scott nominates two Grand Strand students to U.S. military service academies

Senator Tim Scott nominates two Grand Strand students to U.S. military service academies (Photo: Tommy Gilligan / USMA Public Affairs / CC BY 2.0)

Senator Tim Scott has nominated 45 South Carolina students to the United States Military Service Academies for the class of 2021, including two students from the Grand Strand.

The academies include the U.S. Military Academy in West Point, N.Y., the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, M.D., the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo., and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, N.Y.

Scott released the following statement about his nominations:

“It is such an honor and privilege to nominate some of our state’s future leaders to our country’s military service academies. For me, this is one of the best parts of my job. Each year, I look forward to taking the opportunity to review hundreds of applications from young people who have the passion and willingness to serve our country. My office received applications from so many impressive students from every part of the state, and I am confident they will go to their respective service academies and represent our state and country well.”

Among Scott's nominations were two students from the Grand Strand.

Scott nominated Paul Hendrix from South Carolina Connections Academy in Murrells Inlet to the U.S. Air Force Academy, and Jonah Crosby from Waccamaw High School in Pawleys Island to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy.

Scott's other nominations include the following:

U.S. Naval Academy – Annapolis, M.D.

  • James Anthony, Gatson Day School (Lake Wylie)
  • Michael Hovart, Christ Church Episcopal School (Greenville)
  • Kathleen Konicki, Cardinal Newman High School (Elgin)
  • Joshua Musiol, Waccamaw High School (Pawleys Island)
  • Darius Nwokike, Academic Magnet High School (Charleston)
  • Alton O’Neal, Homeward Education Association (Summerville)
  • Alexander Pastis, Academic Magnet High School (Charleston)
  • Madeline Prince, Hilton Head Island High School (Hilton Head)
  • James Rogers, A.C. Flora High School (Columbia)
  • Elice Walrath, Indian Land High School (Fort Mill)

U.S. Military Academy – West Point, N.Y.

  • Carleton Bailiff, Westwod High School (Blythewood)
  • Jonathan-Scott Davidson, Clover High School (Clover)
  • Ryan Harp, Spartanburg High School (Spartanburg)
  • Harrison Hemminghaus, Blythewood High School(Columbia)
  • Francis McConnell, Orangeburg Preparatory Schools (Orangeburg)
  • Harrison Mills, J.L. Mann High School (Greenville)
  • Charles Shaw, J.L. Mann High School(Greenville)
  • Blake Watson, Clover High School (Lake Wylie)
  • Hunter Werts, Mid-Carolina High School (Prosperity) (Hunter has also been nominated to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy.)

U.S. Air Force Academy – Colorado Springs, Colo.

  • Nassim Al-Nawasreh,J.L. Mann High School (Simpsonville)
  • Ta’Vonne Bond, Irmo High School (Columbia)
  • Charles Bootle, The McCallie School (Beaufort)
  • Isabel Eicher, Academic Magnet High School (Johns Island)
  • Zachary Gabert, Blythewood High School (Blythewood) (Zachary has also been nominated to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy.)
  • Rodney Gause, Stratford High School (Goose Creek)
  • Michael Goltra, Academic Magnet High School (Mount Pleasant)
  • Paul Hendrix, South Carolina Connections Academy (Murrells Inlet)
  • Robert King, Cardinal Newman High School (Columbia)
  • Juliana Lehnerova, Ashley Ridge High School (Summerville)
  • Brianna Lewis, Southside High School (Simpsonville)
  • Alec McGahee, Wade Hampton High School (Greenville)
  • Nia-SeomneMcIntyre, Stratford High School (North Charleston)
  • Jacob Nantz, Hohenfels High School(Clinton)
  • Connor Slattery, River Bluff High School (Lexington)
  • Devyn White, Queen of Heaven Academy (Mount Pleasant) (Devyn has also been nominated to the U.S. Military Academy.)
  • Cullen Wojewodka, Wando High School (Mount Pleasant)
  • Connor Young, Academic Magnet High School (Mount Pleasant)
  • Paul Zielinski, Vicenza High School (Clinton)

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy – Kings Point, N.Y.

  • Dalton Barefoot, Belton-Honea Path High School (Belton)
  • Jeffrey Comer, York Comprehensive High School (McConnells)
  • Jonah Crosby, Waccamaw High School (Pawleys Island)
  • William Lacey, James Island Charter School (Charleston) (William has also been nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy.)
  • Christopher McCorkendale, Heritage Academy (Hilton Head)
  • Alex Parker, Northwestern High School (Rock Hill)
  • Eric Vettel, Bishop England High School (Charleston)

To be considered for an appointment to a service academy, applicants must be nominated by a member of Congress or other authorized nominating source. However, final admission is determined by the academies.

South Carolina students interested in applying for future nominations or for more information about the nomination process can call the Service Academy Coordinator at 864-233-5366 or click here.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off