Protest denied in re-election of Rep. Ted Vick

Officials with the South Carolina Election Commission say commissioners voted 5-0 to deny the protest of SC House District 53 in a hearing Tuesday afternoon.

Ted Vick was re-elected to the seat on November 6.

The district includes Chesterfield and Lancaster Counties.

Richard Yow ran on the Republican ticket and filed the protest last week against Chesterfield County Election Commission and Voter Registration, Phil Powell and Ted Vick.

He took on incumbent Vick and petition candidate Phil Powell.

Yow says there were numerous material irregularities, errors and problems that affected the results of the election.

The protest says more than 2,000 illegal/improper votes were cast in the election by a combination of voters who no longer lived within District 53, thus making them ineligible to vote.