Horry County police charged Robert Thomas Baker, 28, with Tattooing of a Person Under 18.
The mother of a 16-year-old girl called police after discovering the teen had two heart shaped tattoos below her hip line. The student had gone to her school nurse for ointment to treat the tattoo and the nurse informed the teen's mother.
The teen told police she got the tattoos from a man at a house on Bear Lane.
She told police the man told her and her friend that he wouldn't do the tattoos unless they wrote fake "parent notes" to cover him. She states her friend wrote the note for her tattoos and signed her mom's name.
She said the man was smoking marijuana and told her it was because he "has anxiety and need's to smoke it so he's doesn't shake and mess it up."
South Carolina law requires someone to be 18 years of age to legally get a tattoo.
Here are answers to some frequently asked questions about tattoo laws in South Carolina.