Winner declared in Florence Cty Council Dist 2 GOP primary

After what was considered heavy turnout for a special primary election, a winner has been declared from the five Republicans running for the seat.

Here are the results for the Florence County Council District 2 Republican primary:

  • Roger Poston - 57% (667 votes) (winner)
  • Dale Strickland - 22% (258 votes)
  • David Creel - 15% (175 Votes)
  • Johnny Godwin - 5% (55 votes)
  • Wayne Barefoot - 2% (20 votes)

According to Florence County Executive Director of Elections and Voter Registration David Alford, voter turnout was about 15 percent for this primary. He says Poston won outright and there will not be a runoff.

Roger Poston will now face Democrat Laverne "Speedy" Bazen for the seat in a May 17th election. The last day for unregistered voters to register for this special election is April 16th.

The seat was left open when Ken Ard was sworn in as South Carolina's lieutenant governor.

Florence County County District 2 covers the lower part of Florence County.