State lawmakers approve plan for 7th congressional district

The South Carolina House of Representatives and the South Carolina Senate have passed a Congressional redistricting bill.

The bill creates a new 7th District Congressional seat in the northeastern corner of the state to include Myrtle Beach, all of Horry County as well as Georgetown and Florence counties.

The vote shot down a proposal the Senate approved in June that would stretch the new district between Georgetown and Jasper counties.

Tuesday, residents from the Grand Strand and the Pee Dee travelled to the Statehouse in Columbia in support of a plan to keep the Grand Strand and Pee Dee together in one district.

State Representative Alan Clemmons, (R), Horry County, said, "Are we one region? You bet we're one region. We share the same hospital systems. We share the same federal court system. We share the same economy."

The approved plan puts Horry and Georgetown counties and all of the Pee Dee, except Lake City and Olanta into the new 7th District. Those areas would be in the 6th District.

The bill now heads to Governor Nikki Haley's desk.

The U.S. Justice Department has to approve the final version of the redistricting plan.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.