Horry County Council Chairman primary goes to runoff

Mark Lazarus received nearly 41% of the vote in Tuesday's primary election for Horry County Council Chairman.

Because no one candidate received more than 50 percent of the vote there will be a runoff between the two candidates who received the most votes.

Al Allen received 24.47% of the vote, and Debbie Harwell 23.59% of the vote.

Horry County Elections Director Sandy Martin says she checked with the South Carolina Election Commission Wednesday morning and they determined a recount is needed.

Only Republicans filed to run for the chairman's seat which Tom Rice held until he resigned after winning the 7th Congressional District Seat last November.

Because no Democrats ran, the winner of the runoff election will likely be the next Horry County Council Chairman.

Former Council Chairman Liz Gilland, received 9.45% of the vote, and Fonzie Lewis received 1.69% of the vote.

Turnout was light for the election, with only about 13,622 votes cast which is 9.5% voter turnout.

The certification hearing will be held on Thursday, March 14, at 10 a.m. in the Horry County Registration & Elections Office.

The election recount will follow Thursday's certification.

The Commission will certify the recount and order a run-off election, according to Martin.