Atlantic Beach election results are in

Tuesday, Atlantic Beach held an election that was ordered by Governor Nikki Haley in March .

Shortly after the polls closed at 7 p.m., cheers erupted from the crowd waiting inside to hear the results read.

"Very happy. It's been a long time coming," voter William Armstrong said.

"I am so proud, as proud as I was the first time we did it," Rosa Stanley said.

The unofficial winners are the same candidates who were the winners of the November election that was eventually overturned.

Here are the unofficial results from the Horry County Election Commission:

Atlantic Beach Mayor

  • Jake E





  • Retha Pierce (incumbent) - 4 votes

  • Windy Price - 1 vote

Town Council - 2 seats

  • Josephine Isom - 53 votes

  • Charlene Taylor - 50 votes

  • James Van Fleet - 2 votes

  • Monique Pointer - 0 votes

"It feels great!" Jake Evans told NewsChannel 15 after the results were read. "I was not that surprised," he said.

Calls made to Retha Pierce Tuesday were not returned. We spoke with Windy Price, who also sits on town council, by phone Tuesday night.

Neither Pierce nor Price voted in Tuesday's election.

"I did not support this election because of the illegalities that surrounds that and the lack of transparency," she said.

Price said as a candidate she was left in the dark in terms of the May 22nd election. She adds that the Atlantic Beach Municipal Election Commission had issued an election date, May 8th.

"I'm planning to use the appeals process to the fullest," Price said.

There are 417 registered voters in Atlantic Beach. 89 of them voted on Tuesday, but about a third of those votes were challenged, so they're not included in the results above.

The election results will be certified by the Horry County Elections Commission on Thursday, May 24, at 10:00 a.m. at the Horry County Registration & Elections Office at 1515 4th Avenue in Conway.

This election was under the microscope all day, being watched by state and local officials.