Male and Female Marathon winners set course, personal record

Stuart Moran won the Myrtle Beach marathon.

It was day of firsts for the top finishers of the 15th annual Bi-Lo Myrtle Beach Marathon on Saturday.

Stuart Moran of Arden, N.C. won the men's and overall divisions.

A native of Brighton, England, Moran, 35, won the race in an unofficial record time of 2:26:46. The previous race record of 2:28:33 was set in 2008 by Garick Hill of Winston Salem, NC.

Moran said he set out to beat the course record, and was ecstatic to do so.

"It felt good to cross the finish line," he said.

Jennifer Adams of Hudsonville, Michigan was the winner of the women's division. Adams, 28, had an unofficial time of 2:53:12. Three years ago, Adams tells NewsChannel 15 she was 50 pounds overweight.

"Anyone can do this. It's all about setting a goal and achieving it," Adams says.

This is both Adams and Moran's second marathon.